ephemera

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ephemera

I came across this word today. I had never heard of it. When I looked it up I was even more surprised that I hadn't.

Without looking do any of you what this means?

Yes. I'm not good with phrasing good definitions of words that I know more at the gut level. The first word that comes to mind for ephemera, though, is bubbles. My two young sons love bubbles. They enjoy them and then they pop. I guess all of our lives is filled with ephemera. Is ephemera.

But I think the book definition of the word has to do with paper stuff not meant to last, because that is the context I've heard it in most recently, watching American Pickers. They use the term to refer to old cheap paper stuff that is collectible but was never meant to last, and was only meant to be enjoyed for a short time. Although, that is an odd use of the term, in my mind, because if it does refer to anything fleeting, and people have turned those fleeting pieces of paper into a long term enjoyment, then isn't that no longer ephemera?

ETA: IDK, I may have it backwards, and it really just means old paper stuff, and from that my understanding of the word came, as a secondary meaning.
    Last edited by Sour Masher; 10-25-2018, 12:35 PM.

Comment

Yes, although I see it far more often in its adjectival form ephemeral.

Comment

Originally posted by Sour Masher View Post
        Yes. I'm not good with phrasing good definitions of words that I know more at the gut level. The first word that comes to mind for ephemera, though, is bubbles. My two young sons love bubbles. They enjoy them and then they pop. I guess all of our lives is filled with ephemera. Is ephemera.