Worst Closing Landscape Ever?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Worst Closing Landscape Ever?

I've been playing fantasy baseball since 1993, and I don't ever remember a worse state of closers than this year.

From a fantasy baseball perspective, I don't know if that's a good or bad thing, as we're the supposed "experts," and that should give us a leg up with the dizzying collection of crap that are in positions to close, as opposed to the less-dedicated chum who would be lost in the soup.

That said, there are possibly only 8-10 closers who could be considered, at this time, to be "solid" or better. But we, the fantasy baseball aficionados, know that even among those 8-10, fully 25% will lose their jobs for some reason or another.

And even some good to great teams don't have clear-cut closing situations with just 2 weeks to go until the season starts -- the Dodgers, Phillies, Padres, Rays, etc.

I'm so old I can remember when a "bad" closing situation in fantasy was landing a shlubby-but-stable-type as your 2nd closer, like a Joe Borowski, Rocky Biddle or Mike Williams. Back then, a discussion with leaguemates would be "wow, Borowski is your 2nd closer? That's a big hole." Now, you can end up with 2-3 Borowskis who have no set position and you may say to yourself, "ehh, I'll be OK with them."

I get it, the closer-by-committee has laid ruin to fantasy baseball. But regardless, this year is still abysmal.

Indeed. I did 4 Draft Champions this year on NFBC and it wasn’t until my 4th draft that I decided to do a team build with a 3rd round closer (Hader) as before I could just never justify the early round pick and opportunity cost. In some of my drafts I would see Hader and Hendriks both go in Round 2. That’s just crazy. But it’s because the pool is so terrible and in DC with no pickups you need to leave the draft with your saves.