12TO NL Only 15th Auction Results...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 12TO NL Only 15th Auction Results...

My final auction of the year started last night around 7 PM Est. I think JC and I are now the only 2 members that have been in the league since 2000. I was a sophomore in college who spent most of my days sleeping in until 11 and most of my nights wondering up and down Court Street drunk off my ass. I am now a "responsible" father of 3 who has been teaching high school for 12 years. Anyway, onto the craziness that is a 12TO auction.

You just haven't seen insane hitting inflation until you have sat in on one of these. I knew it would be bad with a number of teams carrying over $200 into the auction, I came in with around $170. Here were my keepers...

Yonder Alonso 5
    Dee Gordon 11
    Anthony Rendon 5
    Jhonny Peralta 16
    Andrelton Simmons 5
    Charlie Blackmon 3

Aroldis Chapman 10
    Mark Melancon 8
    Madison Bumgarner 15
    Stephen Strasburg 15

So i have attached the actual results of the auction, if I can I'll attach the full rosters in a different post. So the big name hitters went fast and furious...

Tulo 59
    C Gomez 63
    Ian Desmond 47 (SS was really thin)
    R Braun 53
    M Kemp 54
    J Upton 49
    B Posey 45 (We are a 1 catcher league)

A few pricey pitchers went as well

Scherzer 49
    S Cishek 34

I sat through all of this even though I really needed an OF'er as I came in with only 1. I just couldn't convince myself that paying over 50 for one of those guys was worth it. Hell I threw Tulo back at 43 because I was too risk averse to own him. Anyway, my first buy wound up being Joey Votto for $41. This is by no means some great value, but you have to get your money in somewhere and Votto has been healthy this spring. I think it was the very next player I was back in on, Yadier Molina. I wound up winning with a bid of $18, as I mentioned we are one catcher, but I thought the price was still pretty fair.