Official Stock Market Investing Thread

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Official Stock Market Investing Thread

Anyone have some advice about when to jump into the stock market? I'm a complete novice at this, just signed up to do trades a few weeks ago. I bought Chevron at 57.xx, got giddy when it got to about 65 and sold, then it kept going up to the mid 70s.

Then I bought Disney last week, decided that I'd try buying low on a given day and selling when it goes back up in the same day. Well it stayed down that day, went down more the next, and then I sold the following day, made $17. :| Its higher now than when I sold.

So, round three, I wanted to wait until the Dow got down to 20k and I'd buy some various stocks but now the market is up 1200 and I'm wondering if the rebound is already happening.

Any advice? Other than, buy now and forget about it for years.
    "The Times found no pattern of sexual misconduct by Mr. Biden, beyond the hugs, kisses and touching that women previously said made them uncomfortable." -NY Times

"For a woman to come forward in the glaring lights of focus, nationally, you’ve got to start off with the presumption that at least the essence of what she’s talking about is real, whether or not she forgets facts" - Joe Biden

This market is extremely volatile so if youre going to try to day trade or look at short term plays you need to be prepared to take a major loss with your investments. You also should be prepared to be on top of whats going on in the market on a minute by minute basis. I wouldnt recommend it.

I would recommend buying some blue chip stocks and prepare to hold them for 12-18 months. Amazon and Costco come to mind but there are plenty.

Good luck with whatever you decide.