Is it crazy to keep four closers?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is it crazy to keep four closers?

I have very little experience with mixed leagues. This is the Boxscore 5x5, with some very sharp owners. 15 teams.

My keeper list fluctuates, but right now it is looking odd. Assuming Uehara gets the job in Baltimore, and considering League a closer since he will start the season there and presumably stay until Aardsma comes back, I have five closers on my roster:

Hanrahan $1
    Uehara $1
    League $1
    Bailey $3
    Street $9

I'm thinking about keeping the first four, along with Ian Kennedy at $2 and Brett Myers at $5. Is this a bad idea?

That would leave my hitters as:

Austin Jackson $3
    Corey Hart $4
    Nick Swisher $6
    Matt Holliday $33

This would mean I would not be freezing these guys:

Street $9
    Alexi Casilla $1
    Cameron Maybin $1
    Alcides Escobar $10

Is this the right plan? Four closers, two starters, four outfielders? I've never had a keeper list that looked anything like that before.
    Last edited by ; 02-22-2011, 12:35 PM. Reason: add number of teams

Street is the real closer (a bit injury prone). I am not sure a 37 year old Uehara has got the job. So I like Street better at this point. If you use holds I might feel different.

How many teams are in the league?

Can you do some trading?

Comment

You'd pigeon-hole yourself at the draft to target high K/9 pitchers to make up for the lack of K's that comes with carrying 4 relievers in a mixed league. Hanrahan helps somewhat, but 4 is overkill, IMO.

Comment

Plan A: Try and trade away some of your saves for hitters. If you can pull this off, your problems are solved.