Unions under Attack...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unions under Attack...

As angry teachers in the Midwest shut down more than a dozen school districts in protest Thursday, Republican officials across the nation have made teachers' unions "public enemy No. 1" in a battle to trim budgets and rewrite the rules on how unions and states work together.

Ok, as some of you know I am a teacher so I have been following this whole Wisconsin thing with great interest. The new PA governor would be happy to see this come to pass here so I am watching to see what the national vibe is.

Looking up Wisconsin stats it appears the beginning salary is around 25K and the avg is 46K. I can't quickly find if they are required post grad work. I know in PA we need 24 post grad credits. I have no problem with the salary I am paid as I knew what I was getting into(this is often pointed out by people when a teacher dare complains about their salary or heaven forbid go on strike or use the collective bargaining process to get a better wage). For 16 years I will not be paid like a person with 2 undergrad degrees and over 30 degrees of post grad work, I will make under 60K and be ok with that. I also signed up for this because of the health benefits and the pension plan. I get that times are tough and in our last negotiation we definitely increased our health care contributions, but it sounds like states (Wi, NY, NJ and OH) are basically scapegoating teachers and other union workers for all their budget problems.

Anyway I am blatantly biased to the teachers side and I didn't really have anywhere else to go discuss this.

I firmly believe the teaching profession is underpaid and not as respected as it should be. I also think the bad teachers are too abundant and they help lead to the poor image of teachers that many people have.

My two suggestions for the teachers have always been:

1. WEED OUT THE BAD TEACHERS ALREADY!!