Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Attn: Mac Users - Help with upgrading OSX from 10.6.8 to 10.7, please?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Attn: Mac Users - Help with upgrading OSX from 10.6.8 to 10.7, please?

So, I got my daughter a MacBook Pro for Xmas.

Her OSX is 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard) and it needs upgraded to OSX 10.7 (Lion).

1. It says I can download a $30 app to perform this. However, I wanted to check and see if I need to backup the data, etc.

2. For the backup, should I use the Timekeeper app to perform this?

3. It says to use an external HD for the backup, but can I use just any external HD? I have one but I don't know if it's MAc compatible.

4. Is there anything else to be concerned about with this upgrade.

I'm very knowledgeable with PC's and Windows, but I'm new to the MAC scene.

Thanks for your help.

Gris, the OS upgrades usually run very smoothly, and you should not lose any data when upgrading. But it's always a good idea to have a backup, even if you're not upgrading the OS. Any external HD should work fine, as long as it's big enough. For backing up, you can use the Mac's built-in Time Machine, or just manually drag the folders you want to keep (Documents, Music, Pictures, etc.) to the external drive.

Edit: If you bought the Mac from Apple, the upgrade from Snow Leopard to Lion should be free.
    macOS Sonoma brings stunning screen savers, desktop widgets, new ways to share work and web apps along with fun personalization tools and Game mode.

Comment

Originally posted by OaklandA's View Post