Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie?

Far be it from me to gripe, but...

I was a lurker here for well over a year before I joined, and that was right at ten years ago, in the Age of Ric. You can call me a lot of derogatory names, but "newbie" isn't one of them. Apparently we are ranking people by number of posts. I have to question any practice which would have labeled ST a baseball savant.

Originally posted by Lucky View Post
    Far be it from me to gripe, but...

I was a lurker here for well over a year before I joined, and that was right at ten years ago, in the Age of Ric. You can call me a lot of derogatory names, but "newbie" isn't one of them. Apparently we are ranking people by number of posts. I have to question any practice which would have labeled ST a baseball savant.
    Hey, I'm a newbie too!
    拖裤子,
    放屁

Literally means "pulling your pants down to fart" which is a Chinese idiom for "wasted effort." Makes sense to me!

Comment

Who called you a newbie?

*takesoutahurlfrombehindthebar*

Comment

Don't think we can change the designation above our avatar like on the old site. When you get a certain number of posts, you go to "on the 40-man roster" to "on the 25-man roster" and presumably to "starter", "All-Star", etc.
        “Let me never fall into the vulgar mistake of dreaming that I am persecuted whenever I am contradicted.”
        -Ralph Waldo Emerson

Comment

Originally posted by Wonderboy View Post
          Don't think we can change the designation above our avatar like on the old site. When you get a certain number of posts, you go to "on the 40-man roster" to "on the 25-man roster" and presumably to "starter", "All-Star", etc.
          Then Newbie should be Rookie or Single A or Draft Pick or whatever. Just sayin'...
          "When I use a word," Humpty Dumpty said in rather a scornful tone, "it means just what I choose it to mean - neither more nor less."